2nd ODI, India vs West Indies Update

WEST INDIES  -  311/6(50)       
INDIA               -  312/8(49.4)

India won by 2 wickets 

India beat West Indies by two wickets in the second ODI to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series. Opting to bat, Shai Hope smashed a delightful century, while Nicholas Pooran hit a half-century to power West Indies to 311 for six on Sunday. 

Opening the batting, Hope remained unbeaten on 115 off 135 balls, while Pooran scored 74 off 77 balls. For India, Shardul Thakur picked most.

Axar Patel smashed a whirlwind unbeaten 35-ball 64, his maiden ODI fifty, as India scripted a sensational series clinching two-wicket win over the West Indies in the second game

wickets, returning with figures of three for 54 in 7 overs. Chasing, Shreyas Iyer (63) and Sanju Samson (54) struck fine half-centuries, but it was Axar Patel’s unbeaten 35-ball 64 that ultimately made the difference as India scampered home with two balls to spare.

West Indies skipper Nicholas Pooran won the toss and elected to bat first against India at Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad. India made one change to their XI from the last match as Avesh Khan got a chance to make his debut and Prasidh Krishna missed out. While Hayden Walsh Jr came in for West Indies in place of Gudakesh Motie. 

Set a stiff target of 312, the visitors were down to 205 for five in 38.4 overs but Patel revived India's chase with his prowess to take the visitors home with two balls to spare on sunday

Dhawan and comeback man Shubman Gill’s aggressive opening stand, or Mohammad Siraj’s emergence as the leader of the bowling attack in the absence of the experienced Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, India ticked all the boxes on Friday to go 1-0 up in the three-match series.

Dhawan played the perfect second fiddle to Gill as the opening stand was worth 119 from 106 balls, but the senior batter narrowly missed out on his 18th century.

With Shreyas Iyer too finding some form with a half-century, it was a perfect top-three act by the Indian team, but a middle-order collapse followed and India settled for 308 for seven after being in a position to go beyond 350.

In the middle-order, the spotlight would be on Sanju Samson the batter as he once again failed to make use of the opportunity at this level, returning with an 18-ball 12.

West Indies
Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell and Jayden Seales.

Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh.